Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Agona West NPP votes for new executive

Delegates of the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) in the Agona West Constituency last week Saturday made a major decision when they voted for new constituency executives from one team in their constituency primary.

In the run-up to the election, three camps emerged to contest for the various positions apparently due to some differences among some of the leadership of the party.

The incumbent chairman, Mr Joseph Afankwa, popularly referred to as Kojo Addo, who was seeking re-election, had his camp elected with other individuals who contested for the other nine executive positions.

Alhaji Gibrien Tanko, who was then a 2nd Vice Chairman, also contested as chairman with his team, while Mr Victor Benjamin Aggrey was also in the race to contest as chairman with his team.

Throughout the campaign, each camp urged the delegates to vote for its team from chairman to the Nasara coordinator to ensure a resounding victory. Other party supporters shared the view that voting for all executive members from one team would further deepen the cracks in the party, since the losers may not work in the interest of the party.

Call for random selection

Some party faithful were also of the opinion that making a random selection of the new executive from the three teams would appease the various camps, thereby bringing everybody on board towards ensuring party unity.

However, at the end of the voting, Mr Kojo Addo’s team won all the executive positions, with the exception of the assistant secretary position which was won by Nana Kwame Agyei who contested as a neutral person.

After voting

After the election which was held at the Agona Swedru Town Hall, with heavy security presence, the incumbent Mr Joseph Afankwa retained his position with 439 votes to beat Alhaji Gibrien Tanko who had 322 votes, with Mr Victor Aggrey managing only 34 votes.

Mr Isaac Aggrey won the 1st vice chairman position with 433 votes to defeat Frank Abban who had 199 votes and George Sarfo who garnered 163 votes. Mr Ibrahim Mohammed secured 428 votes to win the 2nd vice chairman position against Alex Fosu who had 286 votes and Philip Amponsah who had 69 votes.

Mr George Prince Koranteng polled 375 votes to be elected as the secretary against Jeff Sarfo who secured 172 votes and Lawrence Arthur with only 49 votes. The incumbent women organiser retained her position with 430 votes against Florence Yamoah with 246 votes and Monica Johnson who had 119 votes.

Mr Frederick Boateng was elected youth organiser with 457 votes as against 213 votes and 126 votes secured by David Essandoh and Solomon Forson respectively. With the organiser position, Yusif Maiga had 444 votes to beat the incumbent Isaac Osei Somuah who had 306 votes and Alhaji Sule Mohammed who managed only 44 votes.
In the Nasara position, Mohammed Najib had 503 votes to be elected as the Nasara Coordinator as against 295 votes secured by Adamu Iddrisu.

All hands on deck

Mr Afankwa, in an interview with the Daily Graphic, thanked the delegates for voting massively for the new executive, saying the verdict was a victory for the entire party.

He noted that party work was not the responsibility of a few and, therefore and called for an all-hands-on-deck approach towards building a formidable party in the constituency.

He admonished the party supporters to put the election behind them and come together stronger, to work to consolidate the party’s victory in 2020.

Date: Mar 04 , 2018 , 06:37 Author: Gilbert Mawuli Agbey


There are no comments yet

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top